4/46.- Beijing, Forbidden City, Changh Yin Ge


The Imperial Palace was built between 1406 and 1420 AD. The local legend says that one million people took part in its construction. The complex has two main parts.

The "Outer Court" where the Emperor's important ceremonies took place. The main buildings in this section are the halls of Supreme Harmony, Central Harmony, and Preserving Harmony. On the sides of this section are the halls of Literary Glory and Military Eminence.

The other section is the "Inner Court", where the Emperor spent his leisure hours with his friends, the Empress and his concubines. The main buildings in this part are the Palace of Heavenly Purity, the Hall of Union, and the Palace of Earthly Tranquility, on the central axis. At the sides, are the Six Palaces of the east and west and the Imperial Garden to the north.

The Forbidden City has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 1987. And since 1981 it has been listed as one of the "Important Historical Monuments Under the Protection of the Government" by the State Council of China.

♥ Visit Tagulandang Island ♥