8/50.- Hue, a Citadel gate detail


The Citadel has three distinct walls, the Defensive Fort, the Imperial Enclosure and the Forbidden Purple City (Tu Cam Thanh).

The Defensive Fort is the wall that surrounds the citadel, with its 10 gates.

The Imperial Enclosure (Hoang Thanh), is a second level wall, with four gates: Ngo Mon (Noon Gate) to the south, Hoa Binh (Peace) to the north, Hien Nhon to the east and Chuong Duc to the west.

The Forbidden Purple City (Tu Cam Thanh), was the area were took place the private life of the kings. It is accessible through seven gates.

♥ Visit Tagulandang Island ♥